We make Lantern Prep. This is our own comparison, not an independent review. Every competitor fact comes from that provider's own website, linked under Sources.
Nurses preparing for the DHA, DOH, MOHAP, QCHP or SCFHS (SNLE) exams usually choose between Gulf-focused question banks, many sold for a few months at a time, and large NCLEX banks. This page sets Lantern Prep beside the options people most often consider, using each provider's own published prices and features, and says plainly where each one is the better choice.
Prices and features checked 11 October 2026 on each provider's own website.
| Lantern Prep | Prometric Gulf | Medical Exam Books | eNursing Portal | Examcure | Neelim Healthcare Consulting | Study Prometric | UWorld NCLEX-RN | OpenExamPrep | PrometricMCQ | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $29 once, all five regulators | $69 for 6 months, $79 for 9 months, $99 for 12 months (shown as discounts from $125 to $199) | $69.43 online or $84.93 printed book (DHA registered nurse) | From $39 for 15 days (1,000 questions); full plans from $79 | $69.90 for 6 months (DOH registered nurse, Part 1) | AED 179 once (PDF papers) | Not shown on the public pages | From $149 for 30 days to $449 for 730 days | Free | $49 (shown against $69) |
| Access | Lifetime | 6 to 12 months | 8 months online | 15 days on the entry plan; others not stated | 6 months, extended free until you pass | Download to keep | Not stated | 30 to 730 days | No sign-up | 6-month subscription |
| Free to try | One full practice exam per regulator | Not stated | Not stated | Free trial test | Not stated | 15 sample questions and a 25-question timed mock | Free practice tests and a diagnostic | 7-day free trial with 50 questions | Fully free | Free sample questions and free SCFHS mock articles on its site |
| Question bank | 1,211 original questions for DHA, DOH, MOHAP, QCHP and SCFHS (SNLE), each with an explanation | 2,216 questions, 13 exams (registered nurse package) | 2,500 questions and 10 practice tests online | 1,000 to 2,100+ questions by plan | 1,500+ questions | About 555 questions in 4 papers | 30,000+ questions across all health professions | 2,600+ to 3,100+ (US NCLEX-RN) | 979 original questions across 9 Gulf nursing exams (DHA 132, QCHP 125, SNLE 114, DOH 100, MOHAP 100, plus Kuwait, DHCA, NHRA, OMSB) | 2,500+ MCQs covering DHA, DHCC, HAAD/DOH, MOH, SCFHS, OMSB, QCHP, NHRA and SHA |
| Teaching | None: practice questions with explanations | None stated; Android app | None stated; Android app, printed book option | Timed 150-question mock; booking support on higher plans | None stated | None (PDF papers with cited rationales) | Video courses, spaced-repetition flashcards, mobile app | Videos, flashcards, mobile app, adaptive self-assessments | Explanation with each question; AI help; flashcards and study guides | Not stated |
| Guarantee or refund | Full refund within 14 days | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Free access extension if you do not pass first time | Refund within 14 days if not substantially downloaded | 3 months extra access if you complete 90% of the bank and fail | Not stated | Not stated | Sales final, no refunds; exceptional cases reviewed individually |
Swipe sideways on a phone to see every column.
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: a larger nurse bank (2,216 against 1,211), 13 mock exams, an Android app, and more regulators listed.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: $29 once with lifetime access against $69 to $99 for 6 to 12 months, and a full free practice exam per regulator.
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: a larger bank (2,500 online), a printed book option, and separate products for individual regulators.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: $29 for all five regulators with lifetime access against about $69 for 8 months, and a full free practice exam.
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: a full-length timed 150-question mock, weak-subject quizzes, and optional DataFlow and exam-booking support.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: $29 with lifetime access against $39 for 15 days.
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: a bigger bank (1,500+), free access extensions until you pass, and instalment payments.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: $29 for all five regulators against $69.90 for one, lifetime access, and a full free practice exam.
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: a cited source for every rationale, offline PDFs to keep, a licensing route guide covering seven authorities, and licensing consultancy.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: about twice as many questions (1,211 against about 555), interactive online practice instead of PDFs, and a lower price ($29 against AED 179).
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: video courses, spaced-repetition flashcards, a mobile app, CBT-style timed simulations and an access-extension guarantee.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: a published price ($29 once, lifetime).
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: a much larger, deeper bank with review videos, flashcards, a mobile app and adaptive self-assessments.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: written for the Gulf regulators (UWorld's page targets the US NCLEX-RN and does not mention them), and $29 with lifetime access against $149 for 30 days.
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: Free with no sign-up and also covers Kuwait, Bahrain and Oman exams.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: Lantern has 1,211 questions against 979.
Stronger than Lantern Prep on: Larger bank (2,500+ MCQs) covering more Gulf regulators.
Where Lantern Prep is stronger: Lantern is $29 once against $49 for 6 months.
The SCFHS SNLE Applicant Guide's confidentiality terms bar candidates from sharing examination content, including posting examination content or answers on the internet.
Every regulator has one full practice exam free, with explanations. If it suits you, the full bank is $29 once with lifetime access.
Lantern's full practice exam is free for each regulator, and the full bank is $29 once with lifetime access. On the pages we checked, eNursing Portal starts at $39 for 15 days, Prometric Gulf at $69 for 6 months, Examcure at $69.90 for 6 months and Medical Exam Books at $69.43 for 8 months online.
Recalled questions are reconstructed from memory by past candidates, so their accuracy is unknown, and the SCFHS applicant guide forbids candidates from sharing exam content. Lantern's questions are all original, written for each regulator's exam.
UWorld's NCLEX-RN bank is large and well regarded, but it is built for the US NCLEX and its page does not mention the Gulf regulators. Lantern is written for DHA, DOH, MOHAP, QCHP and SCFHS.
Every competitor fact was checked on the provider's own website on the date shown under Sources, and we re-check at least every four months. Many prices shown are sale prices, so confirm on the provider's site before you buy.
Every competitor fact on this page comes from that provider's own website, on the pages listed under Sources, on the date shown. Prices change and vary by state; check the provider's site before you buy. Lantern Prep is not affiliated with any provider named here; their names and trademarks belong to their owners. Spotted something out of date? Email [email protected] and we will correct it.